The Ark Synagogue

Ark--33

#13 – Explore #3 of the UK Road Trip – Wasted at The Ark

This was due to be our 5th explore of the trip but we failed getting into a couple before this including The House of Tears which I was pretty disappointed about, but to be fair this place definitely made up for it, and I’m glad we did it.

I am going to come clean about something now, something I didn’t tell Urbanographer, Adam X, or Carrot in Motion at the time, For some reason I was ahead of the gang and managed to get in the grounds before them, but what they don’t know is that by doing so I caught my balls on the access point when jumping over and was nursing a bruised nutsack for the entire explore. I painfully “manned up” and continued into the Ark.

A small piece of history….

So God said to Noah, “I am going to put an end to all people, for the earth is filled with violence because of them. I am surely going to destroy both them and the earth. So make yourself an ark of cypress wood, make rooms in it and………..Hold on a sec, wrong Ark…

A few facts for you….

*Built in 1935. It was one of the finest Art Deco synagogues in the country

* Its design by Sir Ernest Alfred Shennan is an original treatment of a traditional basilica plan form and tripartite facade to produce a confidently modern religious building in terms of styling, massing and composition .
* The light and airy interior of the prayer hall contains a highly unusual reinforced concrete canopied clerestory and a cantilevered segmental curved ladies’ gallery.
* The materials and craftsmanship employed throughout the building are of the highest quality.
* Symbolism is clearly evident in the building’s design in the form of the 7-bay prayer hall and 7-light E window each representing the Menorah, and the incorporation of the Magen David into internal decoration and fittings.
* Stylistic continuity can be found throughout the building both externally and internally.
* It has important socio-historic significance as an inter-war synagogue of 1936-7 that represents one of the last free cultural expressions of European Jewry before the Holocaust.
* Abandoned January 5th 2008

So on with the explore, Except for my earlier disruption access was relatively easy here. The first thing I noticed as I entered was this old piano.

Ark--28 Ark--29

I often wonder why there is always a piano left behind when places get abandoned, honestly I’ve found loads. The difference between this one and the rest… This one worked!

The next thing I saw was the staircase.

Ark--5

Without hesitation I made my way up.

Ark--2

A door with a “No admittance sign” Damn I can’t go through. So I went through and found this office.

Ark--3

There was plenty of 50mm close up possibilities here, I was going to come back later to get these….I forgot!

By this point I had completely lost the rest of the group who were busy setting up their shots of the main hall. I concentrated on the corridors and other rooms first.

Ark-8428

Ark-8386

Ark--25

I wonder if my name is on here anywhere?? ummm no.

It didn’t take long before I bumped into Urbanographer taking a photo of a wheelchair in a very nice well lit room, I kept my distance and went back a bit later on for my shot. A shot that I think is probably one of my best, You will see it later in this report.

Ark--17

Ok not one of the greatest DVD box-sets I’d ever watched.

Ark-8436

The main entrance, leading into the synagogue.

Ark--6

Ark-2

Here is a shot of Carrot in Motions top of the range DSLR.

Ark--15

So here it is the main room. Viewed from the top gallery.

Ark--7

Ark--9

Ark-

And more shots from the bottom floor

Ark--20

Ark--22

Ark--24

Ark--19

The main stage

Ark--23

Some really nice features.

Ark--21

Ark-8420

Can anyone tell me what this says? it’s all Hindu to me..

Ark--14

Ark--18

Next I made my way to the top where the organ was. On the way I shot this wonky board with Jewish writing on it.

Ark--12

The organ room

Ark--8

Ark--10

Ark--11

Ark-8364

So onto the room with the wheelchair, and one of my favourite photographs yet.

Ark--4

I have no idea who these people are.

Ark--16

On my way out I had a little look in the kitchen.

Ark--26

Check out the grease ! Nice….

Ark--27

We had one more explore to do after this, little did we know at this time it would be another failure (Katie’s House), We will re-visit soon.

I hope you enjoyed these pics. Please leave a comment.

Cheers

WA

One thought on “The Ark Synagogue

Leave a Reply

